His Majesty’s Hope – Guest Review

So… I am the ever illusive Lethia that Johannah has mentioned on here. My mother is a librarian and I worked in the children’s area at her library for about 6 years total so books are in my blood. I do have an affinity for YA-type books because of being around them for so long. Despite that I feel like I am very eclectic. My only major book hate is ‘grocery store romance’ which is why it had been my mission to open Johannah to other genres.

His Majesty’s Hope                          Susan Elia MacNeal        The Broken Shelf                        Guest Review by Lethia

His Majesty’s Hope
Susan Elia MacNeal
The Broken Shelf
Guest Review by Lethia

I will admit that I have never written a book review in my life. I love to read and I will tell someone if I think a book would spark their interest but I am by no means a ‘reviewer’. I am reviewing this book for Johannah because she was able to get an advance reading copy but hadn’t read the first two in the series yet.

 

 

His Majesty’s Hope (Maggie Hope Mystery #3)

by Susan Elia MacNeal (Goodreads Author)

For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, whip-smart heroine Maggie Hope returns to embark on a clandestine mission behind enemy lines where no one can be trusted, and even the smallest indiscretion can be deadly.World War II has finally come home to Britain, but it takes more than nightly air raids to rattle intrepid spy and expert code breaker Maggie Hope. After serving as a secret agent to protect Princess Elizabeth at Windsor Castle, Maggie is now an elite member of the Special Operations Executive—a black ops organization designed to aid the British effort abroad—and her first assignment sends her straight into Nazi-controlled Berlin, the very heart of the German war machine. Relying on her quick wit and keen instincts, Maggie infiltrates the highest level of Berlin society, gathering information to pass on to London headquarters. But the secrets she unveils will expose a darker, more dangerous side of the war—and of her own past.

 

 

I have enjoyed the Maggie Hope series. You were pulled into her world as a ‘lowly’ typist in Winston Churchill’s office and fell in love with her group of friends. You rode the roller coaster with her as she advanced in her job and her friends turned out to not all be who and what they seemed. The thing I have struggled with from the beginning is Maggie’s love of and affinity for MATH. But Math is what helped her go from ‘Mr. Churchill’s Secretary’ to ‘Princess Elizabeth’s Spy’ as she solved code nobody else had even noticed and consequently was promoted and found out more about her past than anyone ever expected.

I don’t want to give away too much for those who have not read the preceding books (like Johannah) but in ‘His Majesty’s Hope’ Maggie finds herself undercover behind enemy lines. I was not looking forward to the reality of the war to hit Maggie. While she was privy to enormous amounts of information about the war she was naive to all that was happening in Germany.  What started out as a simple in and out mission became so much more for her and everyone else.

You will be drawn in. It is inevitable. I finished the book in less than a day. I give it 4 stars because it is a VERY good book (and series as a whole) but I think I am stingy with stars lol to get a 5 there must be pure perfection. And Math just makes my head spin haha. I hope that you, and Johannah, take the time to read this series. I am already waiting not so patiently to follow Maggie Hope’s journey once more and I have a feeling you will be too.

3 thoughts on “His Majesty’s Hope – Guest Review

  1. Great review for someone who isn’t a reviewer. Math makes my head spin too. Sometimes I am surprised I graduated college since I had to take Calculus! Finishing a book in one day means it really is a good book!! Hope to see more reviews from you on here!

Leave a comment